Please consider downloading the latest version of Internet Explorer
to experience this site as intended.
Meloria • Ever Better
Search Tools Main Menu

University Facilities and Services

Central Utilities & Energy Management

390 Elmwood Avenue  •  P.O. Box 278916  •  Rochester, New York  •  14627-8916

Mission Statement: Central Utilities will safely and efficiently provide steam, chilled water, water, gas, and electricity to the University community on a continuous basis in the most cost effective manner.

Steve Mischissin
 

—Steve Mischissin, P.E.
Director, Utilities & Energy Management

email: smischissinfacilities.rochester.edu
phone: (585) 273-4704




Central Utilities Facts

  • Installed Chiller Capacity: 33,260 tons
  • Total # Chillers: 9 (5 electric motor driven centrifugal & 4 steam turbine driven centrifugal)
  • Largest Chiller: 6,300 tons steam-driven York centrifugal
  • Installed Steam Boiler Capacity: 498,000 pounds per hour
  • Total # of Boilers: 4
  • Largest Boiler: 168,000 pounds per hour B&W, 900 psi, 900 degrees F
  • Installed Cogeneration Capacity: 25,000 kilowatts
  • Largest Steam Turbine/Generator: 18,000 kilowatts Murray steam turbine
  • 2014 Main Campus Electric Consumption: 171,348,842 kilowatt-hours
  • 2014 Natural Gas Consumption: 2,161,824 dekatherms
  • 2014 Cogen Power Production: 51,239,564 kilowatt-hours

Primary Contacts


Central Utilities Plant

Ray O'Dell, Assistant Director, Central Utilities Plant
email: rodell@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: (585)275-3673

Michael Yergeau, Assistant Director, Central Utilities Plant
email: myergeau@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: (585)273-4880

Richard Gardner, Operations Manager, Central Utilities Plant
email: rgardner@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: 585-275-6333

Michael Pavone, Maintenance Manager, Central Utilities Plant
email: mpavone@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: 585-276-5947

Scott DeHollander, Utilities Distribution Manager, Central Utilities Plant
email: sdehollander@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: 585-275-8931

Jill Chudyk, Administrative Assistant
email: jchudyk@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: (585)275-3672


Finance and Billing

Paul Wollke, Finance Manager
email: pwollke@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: (585)275-4147


Energy Management

Levi Olsen, Manager - Building Control & Energy Management
400 Elmwood Avenue, P.O. Box 270485, Rochester, NY 14627-0485
email: lolsen@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: (585)273-2106

Rick Waldorfer, Operations Supervisor
400 Elmwood Avenue, P.O. Box 278918, Rochester, NY 14627-8918
email: rwaldorfer@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: (585)275-7642

Rob Watkins, Construction Supervisor
601 Elmwood Ave. G-4963, P.O. Box 270485, Rochester, NY 14627-0485
email: RWatkins@facilities.rochester.edu
phone: (585)275-1807



Construction Standards and Specifications

University of Rochester Building Automation Master Standards